illustration friday > influence.

Here is my illustration of this week’s topic: Influence

The 5 of Cups is a Tarot card which reminds us that where we put our focus in life has a great deal to do with the quality of our lives and how well they work for us. What are you going to choose to focus on?

If you think you know how the future may go, it may influence you to try to do things differently. My mother gave me tarot card readings when I was younger. Eventually I went on to buy my own deck and teach myself how to do readings. Although I have gotten to know the illustrations on the cards and their basic meanings fairly well, I’ve never been very good at explaining them to others so I’ve mainly just given myself readings.

When I was super into them and probably also a little lost in life, I would pull a tarot card every time there was a decision I couldn’t make on my own. It was a little ridiculous! “Sorry, I can’t go out tonight, the tarot promises disaster!” Needless to say, my interest got a little out of hand and made it somewhat hard for me to be spontaneous and live life to the fullest. Thankfully, a few years later, I’m not as into them as I used to be, but I’ve always admired their mysterious beauty and have wanted to create a deck of my own.

See more Illustration Friday works here.

{What’s Illustration Friday? It’s a weekly creative outlet/participatory art exhibit for illustrators and artists of all skill levels, designed to challenge participants creatively. Basically, every Friday there is a new topic posted on the site, usually just one word, and anyone who wants to can put together an illustration with their own depiction of the word and post it to the site.}

Leave a Reply

